Fault code P0300 on TS Astra 2.2 - vibrating at higher speeds!

Driver78

Got my Astra SRI 2.2 two and a half years ago with 80k on the clock and no problems whatsoever up until a couple of months ago – only a few days after getting a service the engine won’t start. Battery on its way out it would seem so I get the roadside mechanic to give me a jumpstart. Car is revived however I get the dreaded emissions management light on the dash, never seen it before but the car is driving fine so initially I don’t panic.

(Notice also that i need to keep the electric window button depressed to close the driver's side window and the cruise control is not working)

Anyhow I knew the car had to go back into the shop to get the front shocks replaced (and mounds and brake discs and pads too it turns out) so I get them to check the fault code while they are at it.

P0300 is the fault – Random/Multiple cylinder misfire.. As far I know the car has never misfired though I am no expert it seems like something I would have noticed had it actually happened. My Mechanic agrees, reckons he can’t find anything wrong and that the engine is running beautifully, he even changed the spark plugs and cleaned out the throttle housing in the hope that would fix the issue. Unfortunately within 2 minutes of leaving the shop the EML comes back on.

I drive the car on and off for about 2 weeks and monitor the engine, but notice no problems, even with the EML randomly flashing on the dash, occasionally it would stop flashing but remained illuminated.
Then I get another flat battery. The roadside assistance mechanic says the same thing as the last guy, reckons every TS Astra gets ECU problems around 100,000kms and that I should have bought a Japanese car instead.