Stage 1

Mark Dj

Former Staff
Here I am doing the cam chain part by part. So far I am taking all the wiring and brackets off from the top end, so I can remove the top cover. So far so good (I think lol). This is my first time EVER doing anything to an engine, so I will be asking for some help from time to time "Cough, Neil". I am not sure if I need to remove the thing thats at the right hand side of the top cover notsure.gif . Do the spark plugs have to come out? Well I am going to plod along some more......

aimg.photobucket.com_albums_v318_markmk_002_5.jpg

aimg.photobucket.com_albums_v318_markmk_004_5.jpg

aimg.photobucket.com_albums_v318_markmk_003_2.jpg

Mark Dj

Former Staff
This is what I plan to get for it:

Timing chain kit
Balance chain kit
Gaskets

Tools:
Torque wrench
sockets
spanners
Anything else?

Do I need to lift or drop the engine to access parts? Cheers

rushy

Your a braver man than I LOL. I think there's a link to the VX220 site with a complete How 2 mate.

Mark Dj

Former Staff
We should have a how to on here also. The rain has stopped me yet again for going any further. I want to learn how to do the chain so I can do my girlfriends new car when she get another 2.2 :)

Mark Dj

Former Staff
True lol. I would like to give the full engine area a good clean. I want to get that top end off so I take take a look inside lol

Mark Dj

Former Staff
Well I managed to get the top end removed for a little look inside. As you can see I have a creamy area you put the oil into on the lid. Now how do I get to that oil jet, I want to see if it's the old one or not :roll: :

aimg.photobucket.com_albums_v318_markmk_005_6.jpg

aimg.photobucket.com_albums_v318_markmk_006_4.jpg

aimg.photobucket.com_albums_v318_markmk_007_6.jpg

aimg.photobucket.com_albums_v318_markmk_008_4.jpg

aimg.photobucket.com_albums_v318_markmk_009_3.jpg

aimg.photobucket.com_albums_v318_markmk_011_3.jpg

vocky

Staff