Z22SE misfire/intermittent rough running

jim

Please can anyone help me with what appears to be a misfire with my Vectra B zz22se engine.
I am not a mechanic, but after going to several garages, in desperation I'm posting this info on your website for possible help get my engine working correctly.
Car was registered in May 2001, and I have owned the car since May 2003. Mileage 105000.

Problem....

Slight misfire on idle. RPM needle drops occasionally from 800 for a second then restores back to normal. Does this every 20-30 seconds at idle.
From cold, engine performs ok up to temperature. Can achieve high revs ok. Does not stall, but still has misfire on acceleration and idle.

Stop and start from normal working temperature, and engine performs as above, relatively ok, but if I stop and wait for approx 5-30 mins, when starting up misfire gets worse, especially about 1800 to 2000 rpm, and the car sometimes runs like the "choke" has been left out ("showing my age"). Very noticeable under load and uphill.
This will be the same throughout the remaining part of the journey even if I stop and restart. Only if I let the engine cool down, like overnight, this bad misfire disappears, and reverts back to the slight misfire mentioned above.

This problem began about 18 months ago, when the ecu warning light indicated on the dashboard, I took the car to Vauxhall main dealers in Bournemouth, who said that it could be one of 10 different problems, ranging from stretched timing chain, throttle unit, ogr valve, ecu, etc.
They had the car for 2 days and could not rectify the problem unless they changed all these parts costing over £2500, but they would check the timing chain to see if it had stretched or jumped. It hadn't and they reported it as ok and told me to come back if the misfire got any worse!