mornin' all. Vec C repair 'project'?

rick

Hi everyone. First off, I'm no mechanic but, having had an astra vxr, currently have a zaffy B CDTI SRI and now a vectra c Sri, I've started to learn my way around the vx engine bays. Every vx I have breaks, but I keep buying them! Damn you vx and you unreliability but practical designs *grrrrr*

Last weekend I picked up a white vec c sri which looks pretty but needs some work. I've driven 100 miles in it this week and now have an idea of what I'm facing. 6 dash light warnings, 4 rattles, 1 leak and a squeek. Going to have a play with it later on today so will post some pics. The missus wants to keep it so will be a project to make it nice rather than fix up and sell on I think.

Cars take me ages to do up as the kids get all my cash before my cars do so will be a long road ahead. But all welcome to come along for the ride. Any suggestions ref repairs and mods more than welcome!

Cheers
Rick

rick

Ok, well been playing with the car this afternoon and have faults listed as:
- radio doesn't work
- glovebox doesn't shut
- everything squeaks
- squeal from something to do with wheels (not in time with engine revs but is in time with car speed)
- spanner light
- coolant light
- handbrake light
- seatbelt light
- airbag light
- auto adjust xenon light fault
- petrol light
- sloppy gearstick
-crack in front splitter
- driver side speaker cover missing

Think that's it for starters.

It looks like this...

ai1092.photobucket.com_albums_i409_vxrick1987_IMAG0258.jpg

ai1092.photobucket.com_albums_i409_vxrick1987_IMAG0259.jpg

ai1092.photobucket.com_albums_i409_vxrick1987_IMAG0266.jpg

ai1092.photobucket.com_albums_i409_vxrick1987_IMAG0260.jpg

ai1092.photobucket.com_albums_i409_vxrick1987_IMAG0262.jpg

ai1092.photobucket.com_albums_i409_vxrick1987_IMAG0261.jpg

which my missus and I think is alright really.